AGM November 2015

AGM 2015 Presentation

Annual General Meeting of Islay Energy Trust
The 10th AGM of the Islay Energy Trust was held on 4th November at the Islay High School. The meeting opened with a brief moment of silence to reflect on the passing in February of Philip Maxwell, Chairman and principal architect of the Trust.
Jenni Minto presented the accounts for the year ended March 2015 and explained that the Trust remained in sound financial health, with the Examiner reporting that all recording and reporting was fully satisfactory. Acting Chairman Dr Malcolm Ogilvie announced that Jenni Minto was standing down and thanked her for her considerable efforts as Treasurer over the past five years, including her role in bringing the Islay Energy Community Benefit Society to fruition. He further announced that he too, after eight years, was stepping down from the Board. The Members expressed their gratitude for his energy, commitment and sage advice to the Trust.
Three Directors due to retire by rotation had all expressed their willingness to continue and one new nomination had been received. Accordingly, Glen Roberts was duly elected. In addition, after a gap of a couple of years, representatives of Jura, Debs Bryce and Alexander Dunnachie have agreed to join the Board. Office-bearers will be determined at the forthcoming meeting of the Board.
The meeting was followed by a presentation of current IET projects, and plans for the coming period. (See IET website for details). With a number of recently appointed Board members, the Trust is in good hands to launch into its second decade.


Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: